业务领域

MKW对专利组合的出售,投资和其他商业交易进行尽职调查。我们专业的尽职调查使我们能够评估以下问题:

专利所有权:MKW律师和律师助理经常处理拥有复杂的所有权链的专利组合。我们帮助客户确保所有权是完善的。我们还分析了所有权链中的转让和许可协议,以帮助客户调查和了解由此产生的权利限制。

期限和优先级:虽然专利保护期的计算通常是直截了当的,但对于拥有众多相关专利的组合而言则可能很复杂的。同一专利组合中的专利期末端放弃书则可能限制专利保护期。因此,通常只能通过查看文件历史来确定所得到的保护期限。在专利首页的专利期末端放弃书并不总是正确的,即使是,也需要进一步确认受影响的专利的期限。同样的,在具有全部或部分优先权要求相互关联的大型专利的组合中,确定专利的优先权日期通常也具有挑战性。我们的团队知道如何分析专利组合,为客户提供有关专利优先权和保护期的可靠信息。

专利状态:专利申请有时被放弃,随后又恢复;而已经授予的专利有时也会因错过维护费而过期,但后来恢复。 MKW能够识别专利申请和保护期间的间隙,并帮助客户评估专利权是否已被有效恢复。我们还可以帮助评估任何这样的连续性间隙是否产生了其他对专利权的干预,因而降低专利的价值。

专利范围和有效性:MKW律师具有对专利范围和有效性进行评估和诉讼的丰富经验。因此,我们能够有效地向客户就专利组合中特定权利要求的可能范围提供建议,并帮助客户评估权利要求被无效的风险。 MKW律师处理过的关于专利保护范围和有效性的分析和出具的意见,帮助我们的客户在高额交易中保护自身的利益。

Practice Areas

MKW conducts due diligence on patent portfolios for purchases, investments, and other business transactions. Our due diligence expertise enables us to assess the issues below:

Ownership: MKW attorneys and paralegals regularly work with patent portfolios having complex chains of title. We help clients make sure that ownership rights are properly perfected. We have also analyzed assignment and license agreements in the chain-of-title to help clients investigate and understand any resulting limitations on rights.

Term and Priority: Although patent term calculation is often straightforward, it can be complicated in a portfolio with many related patents. Terminal disclaimers in the same patent family potentially limit term. Often, the resulting term can only be ascertained with certainty by reviewing the file history. Terminal disclaimer information on the front of the patent is not always correct and, even if it is, further work is needed to confirm the affected patent’s term. Similarly, ascertaining a patent’s priority date is often challenging in the context of portfolios with large families of patents interrelated by full and/or partial priority claims. Our team knows how to analyze patent families to provide clients with reliable information regarding patent priority dates and term.

Status: Patent applications are sometimes abandoned and revived and issued patents sometimes expire due to missed maintenance fee payments but are later reinstated. MKW can identify continuity gaps and help clients assess whether patent rights appear to have been restored effectively. We can also help assess whether any such continuity gaps have created intervening rights, undermining a patent’s value.

Scope and Validity: MKW attorneys have deep experience evaluating and litigating patent scope and validity. We therefore are able to effectively advise clients on the likely scope of particular claims in a portfolio as well as help clients assess the risk of particular claims being later held invalid. MKW attorneys have prepared analysis and formal opinions on scope and validity that have helped our clients protect their interests in the context of high-value transactions.